Joey Hughes

April 2, 2011 at 8:21 am Leave a comment

Source: Reddit

I saved my best friend’s and my own life with a joke.

We were living in a tiny cabin in SE Alaska. A local dog with tags reading “Joey Hughes” had been hanging around our place a lot so when we heard some animaly noises right around the door my friend called out softly “Joey Hughes?” A brown bear yearling peeked its head inside our ten by ten cabin and proceeded to take an exploratory step inside.

Now of course this all happened in about 5 seconds. I understood the situation but my danger brain had not yet kicked in when I whispered (quite unnecessarily), “That’s not Joey Hughes.”

Sometimes the best wit reveals obvious truths.

The half hysterical giggle this statement elicited from my buddy startled the bear and it halted its approach, then backed out. If the whole bear had entered the only way out would have been a three point turn or through our frail human bodies. I think you know which option the bear would have chosen.

You could say it was the giggle, not my ill (perfectly) timed joke that stopped the bear but you’d be wrong.

Entry filed under: Funny.

Martial Arts vs. the Gun CPR to a Stranger

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Categories


